RSS Feed

Featured Handmade Artist Thursday! Luluxo

Posted on

For this weeks feature we’d like you to meet a wonderful one of a kind shop called, Luluxo. Luluxo’s creator, Lisa, lovingly designs and sews all her super unique, recycled,vintage inspired frocks. Every piece in her shop is truly one of a kind and amazing in every which way.  Browsing her shop is quite a good time. Here’s a slice of what makes Lisa and luluxo tick:

How did you name your shop?

Lulu is my pet name at the french restaurant my husband and i have been at for the last 13 years, and he makes up the “xo” portion of my shop name!

Tell us a bit about yourself?

I began sewing in the mid 90′s when i received my first (and still main) sewing machine as a gift…lucky me!
within the last two years i really began sewing daily, and it became an outlet i needed… my 14 year old dog had passed away in a tragic way and that made for tough times emotionally.
sewing became my good friend, always there to take my mind somewhere else.

What can we find at luluxo?

I sell mostly upcycled clothing and tee shirt aprons in my shop, with a vintage inspired aesthetic. occasionally, i make vintage reproduction pieces as well and am always buying amazing vintage patterns on etsy!

I also love to reconstruct vintage embroidered mexican dresses, usually making the bottom portion in to an apron and the top in to a blouse or little jacket/bolero!

Any other interesting tidbits?

I’ve always enjoyed being challenged creatively, whether it be writing and performing music, acting, painting, cooking…all the things i’ve dabbled in over the years… now i am completely bitten by the sewing bug and find it to be endlessly challenging and rewarding.
I really love creating a piece in my shop for that someone who just love’s it and must have it, that’s what truly makes me happy owning a shop on etsy…..oh, and we finally moved on recently and got a new puppy :) he is a welcome bundle of love.

For more browsing and shopping luluxo click here

About GoldenPlume

Golden Plume is handmade eco-friendly gold and stone jewelry created in Los Angeles by a small team! WWW.GOLDENPLUMEJEWELRY.COM

3 responses »

  1. Bryony Gundy

    All of these items are so lovely, I think the first blouse is my favourite though! I’m off to check out her etsy shop now… :)

    Reply
  2. RAW Los Angeles

    Love the overall look of this: warm, chic, and a little quirky.

    Reply
  3. Wow.. that first blouse is just amazing..love it

    Reply

Leave a reply here

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 199 other followers

