RSS Feed

It’s Featured Handmade Artist Thursday! Tzunuum

Posted on

Stumbling upon a quirky, out of the box, eccentric and folk inspired design shop has to be the best part of my day! This week the spotlight is cast upon sustainable, up-cycled  handmade adornment shop, Tzunuum. Tzunuum’s England based creator, Raphaela, uses rare vintage materials to create folk inspired frocks and jewelry that are quite special and quite one of a kind. Here’s a little bit behind what makes Raphaela and Tzunuum tick:

How did you get started?

I’ve always been making things. My mother had a toy shop when I was little so I had access to all kind of supplies and broken toys I could then mend or turn into something else. I really started thinking seriously about selling my creations when I discovered Etsy. So I saved up some money and quit my day job. It hasn’t been easy all the way but the freedom of being your own boss is priceless.

What materials do you use?

I mostly use leather offcuts and dead stock or vintage fabric. I strive to design my creations in the most eco friendly way I can. And by producing in small batches, I can keep my creativity at its maximum and keep inventing new pieces.

What inspires you?

People, music, nature and travels are my main source of inspiration but anything can trigger an idea, you just have to know how to listen and where to look.

What’s your design process like?

I create my jewelry and clothing in a very organic way.
I have boxes full of unfinished projects that are just waiting for me to find the right element to finish the piece. I always doodle in my notebooks but most of the time I get my ideas when I’m having a bath or walking in the park. Then I rush at my desk and forget about time!

What do you do for fun?

In my spare time, I work on writing music and I also play the violin in a band called Oh Howl.I love to cook vegetarian food and have a thing for museums, thrift stores and travels.I have a million project and I try to keep things into a reasonable pace, but the fever to create will always be part of my identity, no matter what I do.

For more on Tzunuum designs and to shop visit:

http://www.etsy.com/shop/Tzunuum

madebyraphaela.blogspot.co.uk/

About GoldenPlume

Golden Plume is handmade eco-friendly gold and stone jewelry created in Los Angeles by a small team! WWW.GOLDENPLUMEJEWELRY.COM

One response »

  1. The leather necklace reminds me of these Ethiopian leather necklaces I saw in a shop near Portobello Road.

    Reply

Leave a reply here

