RSS Feed

Featured Handmade Artist Thursday: Erica Maree Handbags and Accessories

Posted on

Mexico is abundant with vibrant colors and patterns all of which inspire this weeks featured artist, Erica Maree. Setting south from Portland, Oregon Erica and her family relocated to Mexico where she was captured by the beauty of  the traditional Mexican regalia. Her surroundings are evident in the art she creates which illustrate a connection to the lavish and unique embroidery in Mexico. We wanted to know all about Erica and her gorgeous handmade work so we asked!:

How did you get started making bags and accessories?

Erica Maree handbags and accessories started while I was living in Merida Mexico. But the ideas and inspirations evolved as soon as I relocated to Mexico in 2008. I was drawn to the vibrant colors and textures of our new surroundings. My original design came to life when my daughter grew out of a traditional hand embroidered mexican dress and it became my first handbag…the Merida Hobo Bag.

What are your favorite materials to use?

The core material is genuine Mexican hand embroidered items. These embroidery techniques have been around for centuries and handed down through the generations. I up-cycle these items into unique fashion forward handbags and accessories for women.

What inspires you?

Colors, textures, and places that I travel to. Inspirations tend to sneak up on me when I’m least expecting it. That’s’ the moment I love. That “ah, ha” moment in time, when creations and ideas form in my mind.


Do you have a  favorite piece?

It’s hard to choose a favorite, because I love them all. At the present, I’m all warm and fuzzy about the new Sophia fold over clutches made from oilcloth. The texture is great and the bright prints are fun and funky!

Any thing else about you as an artist and your work?

I live work and play in Puerto Vallarta Mexico, and when I’m working on a handbag or accessory in my studio I often think about the unknown artisan in Mexico where my materials originate from. My customers really get a one of a kind piece and the end product and designs are from an unspoken, collective collaboration between me and this unknown artisan. .“In artisanal work there is a continuous oscillation between utility and beauty; that oscillation has a name, pleasure….The pleasure that crafts give us flows in the double transgression: toward the cult of utility and toward the religion of art”….Octavio Paz

For more on Erica Maree and her work visit: 

website – www.ericamaree.com

Etsy Shop www.etsy.com/shop/ericamaree

Facebook Page www.facebook.com/Erica.Maree

Pintrest pinterest.com/ericamaree/#

Twitter twitter.com/#!/EricaMare

blog www.ericaslivinginmexico.com

Interested in being featured? Email us at goldenplumejewelry@gmail.com

About GoldenPlume

Golden Plume is handmade eco-friendly gold and stone jewelry created in Los Angeles by a small team! WWW.GOLDENPLUMEJEWELRY.COM

6 responses »

    • I love mexican embroidery. My daughter also had a little dress that her aunt got her in Mexico that she grew out of. Beautiful colors, and I love the idea of the “unknown artisan.” Very cool!

      Reply
  1. beautiful photographs-really enjoyed this post!

    Reply
  2. That oilcloth clutch is wonderful! I had to go Like her FB page!

    Reply
  3. I simply adore the colors in these pieces! Stunning work.

    Reply
  4. wow.. these bags are absolutely gorgeous.. I love the peacock one.. the embroidery is so pretty. Off to check out her shop now.

    Reply

Leave a reply here

