RSS Feed

Featured Handmade Artist Thursday: Bonjour Frenchie

Posted on

“My artistic intentions are not to reinvent the wheel or deliver a philosophical message. I am a big dreamer and simply wish to show the world those dreams.” – Jessica Turnbow creator of Bonjour Frenchie

Picture Paris, the city of beauty and romance painted in candy colored hues and you’ll be on the same page as our featured artist of the week, Jessica Turnbow. Venturing outside the norm, Jessica, based in Arizona, is a self-proclaimed dreamer, drawn to using bright colors in unconventional ways.  Her work takes on many forms from graphic design to traditional drawings to driftwood art, all fantastic in their unique ways.

After catching Bonjour Frenchie on the front page of Etsy.com (a major accomplishment) we were hooked on her shop and just had to get our frenchie fix. Jessica gives us some insight into her dream world:


Tell us how you got started? 

As an introvert, I have always found myself most comfortable cruising around my own inner world. I am a big dreamer, inspired by Neon pastels, sorbet colors, Sofia Coppola’s “Marie Antoinette”, travels to Europe and vintage fairy tales. As a little girl, my family took many road trips to California. During those road trips, I would bring my markers and paper and draw the mountains and scenery as we drove by, accompanied by little short stories I wrote to go along with them. I also loved to paint rocks in my favorite colors. The idea of taking something natural and adding pops of color was, and still is, exciting for me, as you can see with my painted sticks!

It wasn’t until 2008 that my passion really came to surface. I travelled to Paris, France and while wandering the streets of Paris, the Louvre museum and Marie Antoinette’s gardens at Versailles, my passion for the Arts really came alive. When I came back, I went back to school, studied Art History and began painting with watercolor. My sister-in-law, who is also an Artist, inspired me to begin selling my work. The rest is history, as they say 😉

 

What materials are you drawn to? 

I use a lot of Sennelier, MaimeriBlu and Winsor & Newton Artist grade watercolor paints. I use mainly hot press watercolor paper. For my painted sticks, I use natural pieces of driftwood, gathered from different areas of the world. I then paint them with Acrylics and seal them with varnish.

 

Where does your inspiration come from? 

I am inspired by feminine and natural elements. Pops of color, Neon and sorbet shades and pastels and geometric “tribal” patterns. Sofia Coppola’s “Marie Antoinette” is also a big one, European travels and of course, fairy tales!

 

Which are your absolute favorite pieces from Bonjour Frenchie? 

My favorite pieces from my shop:
www.etsy.com/listing/70943651/santorini-greece-greek-watercolor-print
www.etsy.com/listing/70737114/brunette-portrait-8×8-art-print-fabric
www.etsy.com/listing/101830828/vintage-car-print-8×10-fine-art-digital
www.etsy.com/listing/100787495/painted-sticks-6-piece-collection-tribal

 

Tell us something else about you as an artist. 

I also have a few other Etsy shops! My travel photography store which I share with my best friend, Holly Ouellette. Find us here! www.etsy.com/shop/chezjolly
I also have my own little personal photography shop,www.etsy.com/shop/pastelfables as well as a store with my amazing boyfriend,www.etsy.com/shop/shocrates (which is still under construction!)

Recently, I have started working with Photoshop more and have been experimenting with strictly digital Art. In the future, I hope to have a lot more digital work in my shop. I am also working on a couple of other exciting new projects, stay tuned!

 

To learn more about Bonjour Frenchie visit:


www.etsy.com/shop/bonjourfrenchie

www.etsy.com/shop/chezjolly

www.etsy.com/shop/pastelfables

www.etsy.com/shop/shocrates

jessicaturnbow.com/

jessicaturnbow.tumblr.com/

Are you a handmade artist and want to be featured here? Email us @ goldenplumejewelry@gmail.com

About GoldenPlume

Golden Plume is handmade eco-friendly gold and stone jewelry created in Los Angeles by a small team! WWW.GOLDENPLUMEJEWELRY.COM

Leave a reply here

