RSS Feed

Featured Handmade Artist Thursday: Emerald Snow

Posted on

Paulina is todays featured handmade artist and there is good reason for that. As an artist Paulina pours her soul into each creation she makes for Emerald Snow, her online etsy shop. Each piece of her art reflects an inner flame of creativity influenced by central Europe, where she lives, and what looks to be a wildly rich inner self! Enjoy getting to know this truly wonderful artist:

How did you get started?

My name’s Paulina, I come from central Europe, Slovaka. I started with printmaking when I was 17, but with art I started when I was five. Now I’m graduading the Academy of Fine Arts in your capital, where is a well formed tradition of printmaking. So I can tell, that I was influenced my slovak world known illustrators, because when I was child I used to read a lot of books with them illustrations.

I love the physical-ness of printmaking techniques: painting, drawing, scratching, scraping, incising, gouging, sanding, polishing, rolling and wiping ink on the plates and then cranking them through a press.
I love the graphic print quality and the ability to make multiples of a single image; printmaking helps to make collecting original art more accessible to all.

The second part of my work is focused on painting. I prefer acrylic, last time I’m experimenting with a new polygonal shapes of frames, it shifted my work to the another dimension

What materials do you use?

Most of my artworks are focused on printmaking- there I use paper and printing colors, but I love the sketch with markers and pencils as well.
Regarding to painting I prefer painting with acrylics on canvas.

What inspires you?

Random things around me. I love details.
Last time I was strongly inspired by the book of Clarissa Pinkola Estés- Women who run with the wolves.

What are your favorite pieces?

Honestly, I have a deep relationship to all of my works. because all of them was made with love and deep passion. I really enjoy my the very last cycle of paintings which I made on polygonal canvas frames.

Any other cool facts about your shop and you as an artist?

Yes. 🙂 Maybe someone could be interested about my other interests and passions. I love healthy lifestyle; I’m raw foodist, training the martial arts and love travelling!

To learn more about Paulina and Emerald Snow visit these links:

paulinavarregn.tumblr.com/

www.etsy.com/shop/emeraldsnow

About GoldenPlume

Golden Plume is handmade eco-friendly gold and stone jewelry created in Los Angeles by a small team! WWW.GOLDENPLUMEJEWELRY.COM

2 responses »

  1. great work. an interesting interview.

    Reply

Leave a reply here